What’s changed in Multi-user in Enterprise accounts?

If you’ve been using the Multi-user feature, you’ll notice that there are a few differences between this feature and the one available in the redesigned GetResponse Enterprise account:

  • the account owner assigns an admin to each additional account they create,
  • additional account users are called users,
  • both the account owner and admin can add users. Learn how to add and manage users
  • there are 3 predefined (default) roles: Administrator, Designer, and Marketer
  • you can assign only one role per user. It’s no longer possible to assign multiple roles to a person.
  • it’s no longer possible to edit a predefined (default) role. If you want to customize a role for your team members, you need to create a new role for them.
  • to set up permissions, you answer a series of questions that help you decide what parts of your account people should have access to and what they can do in these spaces, all based on the role they play in your organization.

To access the feature,

  • if you’re an account owner, go to Profile>>Accounts and users
  • if you’re an admin, go to Profile>>Team

What happens to the roles I created in Multi-user?

People who have access to your account using the Multi-user feature continue to have access to it with the Team feature in the new GetResponse. All the roles you’ve created in Multi-user appear on the Manage roles page as custom-created roles.

You’ll be able to tell which ones you created in Multi-user because we’ve added the word “migrated” to the role names:

  • default roles are displayed as Migrated (name of the role), eg. Migrated (Accountant)
  • default roles you edited are displayed as Migrated (name of the role + modified), eg. Migrated (Accountant modified)
  • user roles (the roles you created from scratch) are displayed as Migrated (name of the role), eg. Migrated (Editor)
  • roles with custom rights appear as Migrated (Custom rights for name@example.com)
  • for users who had multiple roles in Multi-user, we’ve consolidated these roles into one set of permissions. This consolidation applies to all types of roles you could assign in Multi-user. The new role name is Migrated (the names of the roles), e.g. Migrated (Graphic designer, Copywriter)

In most cases, permissions for these migrated roles are going to be the same as the ones in Multi-user. But it’s possible that some users may end up with more or fewer permissions if:

  • the role they were assigned has been consolidated
  • the permissions they had in Multi-user differ from permissions in Accounts and users/Team. Please review the settings for the role and decide if you’d like to make any changes.

Are the predefined roles the same?

The predefined roles in the redesigned feature may be different than the default roles in Multi-user. Apart from the name changes (e.g. “marketing manager” vs “marketer”), their set of permissions can be smaller or larger compared to what they used to be.

What do the permissions mean?

Permissions are given based on access users have or don’t have to specific areas within the account. For example, we’ll prompt you to let us know if you want users to have access to forms:

Can users work with forms?
No, they don’t have access to forms
Yes, they can design and publish forms (full control)

If you select “no”, they won’t see that feature in their account view. If you select “yes”, they’ll have full access to the feature and its functionalities.

For features like Manage contacts, Email marketing, and CRM we ask you to let us know if you want to give users full control of the feature, or limit it to specific tasks or areas (similarly to the permission levels you were setting when picking “blocked””, “view only”, or “view and edit”).

Manage contacts

In this section, you’re defining which lists, contacts, and segments users have access to and what they can do with them. We ask you this question: “Can users work with all contact lists or segments, or just the selected ones?” and give you three options:

  • They can view only the lists I selected
    Choose this option if you want users to be able to access only specific lists. Users can select these lists when they create forms, landing pages, or newsletters. The users will see them on the Manage lists page but they won’t be able to edit list details, search contacts in the lists, or view and edit contact details. Note: You choose the lists for them when you add a user.

  • They can view and manage contacts in all existing and future lists
    This means they can:

    • directly add, import, and copy contacts
    • search contacts
    • create segments
    • view contact details
    • view and edit list settings
  • They can view, manage, and export contacts in all existing and future lists
    They can do all of the above and export contacts.

Email marketing

In this section, you’re deciding what permissions users get to work with newsletters and autoresponders.

  • They don’t have access to newsletters
    Choose this option when users don’t need access to email marketing.
  • They can design newsletters but not send them. If you choose this option, you’ll need to review all message drafts before they are sent
  • They can design and send all types of messages to existing and future lists (full control)
    “Full control” means they can do create re-use, archive newsletters, you have full access to the Manage autoresponders page, etc. They can do everything email marketing-related.

We also ask you to specify if you want users to be able to view email marketing statistics (this includes email analytics and subscription stats).

Marketing automation

In this section, you can decide if you want users to give access to marketing automation.
– No, they don’t have access to marketing automation
Choose this option if your users don’t need to build workflows and create automation messages.
– Choose “yes” to allow users to:
– create and publish workflows
– create new automation messages
– select all of the forms, messages, lists, custom filters to set up element properties

Still wondering?