Can I add to a workflow contacts who were copied or moved to a different list?

You can use the Contact copied to list? condition to add contacts to a workflow when they are copied to a different list. Use Contact moved to list? to add contacts to a workflow when they are moved to a different list. Note: The elements won’t work for contacts who are copied or moved manually. Contacts need to be copied or moved via API or in a different workflow.

These conditions have an “if yes” (green) connector. The elements can be used as start elements only. The conditions will trigger actions for contacts who are moved or copied while your workflow is running. That means that the conditions work only for the contacts who are moved or copied after the workflow starts.

How do I set up “Contacts copied to a list” and “Contacts moved to a list”?

The steps described below are the same for both conditions. To use them in a workflow:

  1. Drag and drop the element you want to use to the workspace and open element Properties.
  2. Expand the list and select the list contacts are copied or moved to. When that happens, they’ll enter this element.
  3. Optionally, turn on the option for the element to Run multiple times.

How can I use “Contact moved to a list” in a workflow?

You can use the condition to set up workflows that remove contacts from other lists or from an autoresponder cycle. For example, you’d like your contacts to stop receiving autoresponders targeting all new clients when they’re moved to a list of customers interested in a specific service you offer. For this, you’ll need two elements—Contact moved to a list and Remove contact.

To set up this workflow, in Contacts moved to a list, select the list that becomes the trigger when contacts are moved to it. In Remove contacts, choose Autoresponder cycle and select the list it’s in. That way the contacts stay in the list but don’t receive autoresponder messages.

If you’d like to remove your contacts from one list once they’re moved to another, use Contact moved to a list and Remove contact. In Contact moved to a list, select the list that becomes the trigger when contacts are moved to it. In Remove contact, choose the list you’d like the contacts to be removed from.