2023 Email Marketing Benchmarks by GetResponse

Michal Leszczynski

2023 Email Marketing Benchmarks by GetResponse

We want to live in a world where emails are relationship builders, not distractions.

The best way to achieve this is by helping marketers design more meaningful campaigns backed by data-driven insights.

Turns out, as a email marketing software provider, we have tons of data.

That’s exactly why we created the incredibly informative Email Marketing Benchmarks report.

Keep reading to find loads of useful insights into emails, marketing automation, landing pages, and webinars.

Can’t find what you need? Just send us an email! We love to know what’s important to our fellow marketers.

Michal LeszczynskiHead of Content Marketing & Partnerships @GetResponse

What we did

We’ve analyzed almost 7 billion messages out of nearly 30 billion emails GetResponse customers sent throughout 2022.

For the best insights, we only looked at active senders with at least 500 contacts.

We’ve also used the total values for average email opens, clicks, unsubscribes, bounces, and spam (abuse) complaints.

That means we’ve counted every action your subscriber made – whether they reopened your messages or clicked on all your links.

What’s new in this report?
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With the introduction of Apple’s Mail Privacy Protection (MPP), we’re seeing a big shift in the numbers reported by marketers worldwide. The average email open rates are up by 7.14 percentage points (pp), while CTRs are down by 0.13 pp.

As open rate tracking becomes more challenging, it’s time for marketers to shift their focus toward more reliable metrics, like email click-through rates and conversion rates. Also, as more businesses begin to invest in email marketing, making the inbox an even more competitive space, marketers should double down on driving more engagement from their communication. This will help them improve their inbox placement rates and strengthen their customer relationships as a result.

Here are they key strategies to try in 2023:
  • Invest in segmentation and personalization. Personalized emails still outperform generic ones, but you’ll need to go beyond the standard personalized salutation to deliver truly engaging communications.
  • Leap into marketing automation. Automated emails continue to lead in engagement rates. Using them, you’ll be able to deliver your messages in a more personalized and timely manner.
  • Get to know your audience better. With third-party cookies fading away, your own data will become even more important. Use surveys and track the email content your audience engages with. Build your segmentation strategy around that information and apply it in your multichannel marketing campaigns.
  • Make A/B testing part of your routine. Even if a particular tactic doesn’t work for others, it doesn’t mean it won’t perform well for you. Remove the guesswork from your email marketing program by adding A/B tests to your process.

Frequently Asked Questions
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What are the average email benchmarks (open rate, click-through rate, etc.) for all industries?
  • The average email open rate is 26.80%
  • The average email click-through rate is 1.89%
  • The average email click-to-open rate is 7.01%
  • The average email unsubscribe rate is 0.1%
  • The average email spam complaint rate is below 0.01%
  • The average email bounce rate is 2.57%

Learn how to calculate these and other important email marketing KPIs.

What is a good email open rate?

A good open rate (OR) is rather individual, and the factors that influence it are often out of your control. The industry you’re in, your target audience, and the type of campaign you’re running all affect how high your open rate will be.

Consider this:

Out of all the industries we analyzed, Internet Marketing had the lowest average open rate of 21.9%. At the same time Communications, the industry with the highest result, observed an average open rate of 48.8%.

For better email results, visit our guides on email marketing best practices and how to increase your email open rates.

What is a good click-through rate?

Much like with open rates, what you should consider a good click-through rate is rather individual.

The elements such as the industry you’re in, your target audience, and most importantly — the type of campaign you’re analyzing — all affect how high your click-through rate will be.

After all, not all campaigns have the intention to get a response from the recipient, and therefore usually don’t observe high click-through rates. An example of one such campaign is an email informing customers about a privacy policy update.

Consider this:

Of all the industries we looked at, Internet Marketing had the lowest average click-through rate of 1.68%. On the other hand, Communications, which was the top performer, had the highest average CTR of 5.77%.

Follow this link if you’d like to learn how to increase your email click-through rates.

What’s the difference between click-through and click-to-open rate?

Email click-through rate (CTR) tells you the number of people who clicked on any of the links inside of your email.

Meanwhile, the click-to-open rate (CTOR) compares the number of people that opened your message with those who clicked on any of the links.

CTOR is an important metric that can help you better understand how relevant and engaging your emails are.

To calculate CTOR, you need to divide your click-through rate by the open rate and multiply it by 100%.

For example:

  • OR: 20%
  • CTR: 2%
  • CTOR = 2%/20% * 100% = 10%
What are good email conversion rates?

Conversion rate focuses on the results — how many times or how many of your recipients have taken a given action.

For example, how many times they downloaded your ebook, how many of them registered for a webinar, or visited your product page.

This metric can be very useful, especially when you assign a monetary value to your conversions. Then it’s very easy for you to decide whether a particular campaign was successful and needs repeating, or if you should choose a different approach.

As everyone can have their own definition of conversion, it’s impossible to say what a good email conversion rate is, and we suggest that you look at the next best thing, such as the average click-through rate.

Location & industry
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Below you can see how the average email open rates, click-through rates, and other key email marketing metrics vary across different locations and industries.

Average results by continent
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Take a look and see how the average email marketing metrics vary across continents.



  • Open rate: 37.93%
  • Click-through rate: 2.15%
  • Click to open rate: 5.68%
  • Unsubscribe rate: 0.17%
  • Spam rate: 0.01%
  • Bounce rate: 2.44%
North America

North America

  • Open rate: 31.02%
  • Click-through rate: 2.96%
  • Click to open rate: 9.56%
  • Unsubscribe rate: 0.09%
  • Spam rate: 0%
  • Bounce rate: 4.92%


  • Open rate: 30.69%
  • Click-through rate: 2.34%
  • Click to open rate: 7.61%
  • Unsubscribe rate: 0.13%
  • Spam rate: 0.01%
  • Bounce rate: 2.07%


  • Open rate: 19.12%
  • Click-through rate: 1.16%
  • Click to open rate: 6.08%
  • Unsubscribe rate: 0.08%
  • Spam rate: 0%
  • Bounce rate: 0.86%


  • Open rate: 19.14%
  • Click-through rate: 1.46%
  • Click to open rate: 7.64%
  • Unsubscribe rate: 0.06%
  • Spam rate: 0%
  • Bounce rate: 2.17%
South America

South America

  • Open rate: 22.87%
  • Click-through rate: 1.25%
  • Click to open rate: 5.48%
  • Unsubscribe rate: 0.1%
  • Spam rate: 0.01%
  • Bounce rate: 2.95%
Open rate
Click-through rate
Click to open rate
Unsubscribe rate
Spam rate
Bounce rate
Anna Kvasnevska

The overall CTRs are lower compared to last year’s. Let’s see what it means exactly.

The recent data suggests that it was a good year for email marketers operating in Oceania as their open rates saw a booming increase (to 37.93%). At the same time, North America seems to be outperforming every other region when it comes to CTRs (2.96%) and CTORs (9.56%). Yet, 2022 was not a good year for South America, that saw significant drops in almost every metric, including unsubscribes, spam complaints, and bounce rate.

While English-speaking countries saw some significant boosts to their email marketing KPIs, engaging the rest of the world had proven to be difficult. Improved localization could be one of the solutions that would help you improve your emails’ performance. It’s important to localize your email campaigns not only in terms of the language, but also according to the cultural and social realities of the markets you target. While some email marketing best practices may work like a charm for your US-based campaigns, they may be perceived as ineffective or downright offensive in Asia or Africa.

If you are running an international business, culture-driven personalization and user-oriented communication must stand at the center of all your email marketing efforts.

Anna KvasnevskaContent Marketing Manager @GetResponse

Average results by country
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What are the average email marketing results in different countries? Here’s what we’ve found.

Open rate
Click-through rate
Click to open rate
Unsubscribe rate
Spam rate
Bounce rate
Australia Australia38.88%2.04%5.24%0.16%0.01%2.39%
Belgium Belgium34.66%4.5%12.98%0.28%0.01%1.99%
Brazil Brazil18.02%0.94%5.21%0.09%0.01%3.41%
Canada Canada36.84%7.41%20.12%0.12%0%2.96%
Colombia Colombia26.21%1.27%4.85%0.1%0%2.53%
France France40.27%1.91%4.74%0.17%0.01%2.01%
Germany Germany34.56%4.18%12.11%0.18%0.01%1.77%
GreatBritain Great Britain27.59%1.84%6.65%0.12%0%2.13%
India India16.76%1.64%9.82%0.06%0%1.99%
Indonesia Indonesia14.69%0.83%5.66%0.06%0%3.67%
Israel Israel24.63%2.26%9.16%0.09%0%0.86%
Italy Italy31.86%2.05%6.43%0.13%0.01%2.07%
Malaysia Malaysia18.78%0.64%3.41%0.07%0%1.02%
Mexico Mexico23.09%1.19%5.15%0.06%0.01%2.44%
Netherlands Netherlands45.68%3.61%7.9%0.28%0.01%2.45%
Peru Peru19.42%0.8%4.1%0.07%0%5.32%
Philippines Philippines35.44%1.97%5.55%0.09%0%1.92%
Poland Poland30.93%3.22%10.41%0.13%0.01%1.73%
Romania Romania20.67%1.43%6.94%0.1%0%1.59%
Russia Russia25.4%2.26%8.91%0.23%0.02%2.65%
Singapore Singapore16.03%1.04%6.49%0.05%0%1.52%
Spain Spain23.21%1.38%5.94%0.08%0%3.75%
Ukraine Ukraine18.89%1.81%9.56%0.12%0%0.51%
UnitedStates United States30.74%2.68%8.72%0.08%0%5.18%
Vietnam Vietnam24.58%0.84%3.43%0.04%0%0.8%

Average results by industry
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Here, we’ve gathered email marketing benchmarks by industry. You can see how your average email open, click-through, click-to-open, unsubscribe, and spam complaint rates compare against other companies in your industry.
Open rate
Click-through rate
Click to open rate
Unsubscribe rate
Spam rate
Bounce rate
Arts & Entertainment37.41%2.69%7.2%0.14%0%2.57%
Financial Services26.5%4.42%16.68%0.09%0.01%1.89%
Health & Beauty27.73%1.78%6.41%0.12%0.01%2.99%
Health Care30.85%1.72%5.57%0.16%0.01%2.65%
Internet Marketing21.9%1.68%7.66%0.11%0%2.78%
Legal services32.42%3.16%9.75%0.12%0%2.82%
Real Estate37.23%2.17%5.84%0.12%0%2.06%
Restaurants & Food35.34%2.28%6.44%0.17%0.01%2.46%
Sports and Activities32.62%2.7%8.29%0.11%0%2.8%
Technology & High Tech33.92%3.99%11.77%0.12%0.01%2.38%
Michal Leszczynski

Communications, Publishing, and Financial Services are in the lead

Email remains an important marketing channel for many industries. And as we can see, the same applies to their recipients, who happily engage with their messages.

In the lead, we’ve got Communications, Publishing, and Financial Services. They all observed higher-than-average click-through rates (4.42%-5.77% vs. 2.89%) and click-to-open rates (11.83%-16.68% vs. 8.67%).

At the end of the pack, we see Health & Beauty, Healthcare, and Internet Marketing. Their average CTRs ranged between 1.68% and 1.78%, which is considerably below the overall average of 2.89%.

Aside from the overall improvement across most industries, we didn’t see significant shifts between their positions. One industry, Travel, experienced higher-than-average bounce rates (6.83% vs. 2.92%). However, it already had high bounce rates in the previous editions of our report.

The bottom line is to pay attention to the industry standard and try to improve with every new campaign. Always think about your audience's needs, whether you’re trying to increase your open rates or improve your click-throughs

Michal LeszczynskiHead of Content Marketing & Partnerships @GetResponse

Average results month by month
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How did the average email marketing results vary throughout the year? Let’s explore:

Open rate
Click-through rate
Click to open rate
Unsubscribe rate
Spam rate
Bounce rate
Michal Leszczynski

Over a year since Apple MPP started – what’s the impact?

It’s been over a year since Apple announced its New Privacy Policy that lets users decide if they want their email behavior to be tracked by marketers.

As a quick reminder, when switched on, Apple MPP makes tracking email campaigns performance more challenging as every message is automatically opened – by Apple and not the user – distorting the real statistics.

This change started rolling out between September and November 2021. Itaffects segmentations based on email engagement, time-optimization algorithms, and automated campaigns based on email open behavior in your email marketing software.

In our last report, we had noticed a slight 1-2 pp increase in average open rates reported from September through December 2021. This time, the increase in the open rate is much more noticeable. The overall average open rates in 2022 were higher by 7.37 pp, while CTRs decreased by 0.09 pp.

Now, there may be several reasons why this happened, but I think Apple MPP is the main one. For full disclosure, last year, we relied on the results from marketers with a slightly larger audience – those with 1,000+ contacts. The data in this table also only represent newsletters, i.e., it doesn’t include more engaging, automated emails.

That said, it’s time we rethink our approach to email marketing, measuring recipient engagement, and how we segment our audience. We should move toward more trustworthy data, like click-throughs and conversion rates, get better at identifying fake auto-opens from Apple MPP, or get used to being unable to track everything.

Michal LeszczynskiHead of Content Marketing & Partnerships @GetResponse

Landing page conversion by industry
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In this table, you’ll see the average landing page conversions based on the subscription rate they generated across industries.

Avg. Conv. Rate
Arts & Entertainment18.21%
Financial Services3.72%
Health & Beauty6.31%
Health Care5.77%
Internet Marketing6.57%
Legal Services9.36%
Real Estate4.6%
Restaurants & Food1.71%
Sports and Activities9.3%
Technology & High Tech5.33%
Irek Klimczak

Big changes

We continue to observe significant drops in conversion rates across all industries.

Our average landing page conversion rate was 7.12%, much lower than the 17.15% we reported in 2021.

The industry that scored the highest conversion rate that was also way above average is Arts & Entertainment at 18.21%. We observed the lowest 1.71% conversion rate in the Restaurants & Food industry.

While there must be several reasons behind the drop, I assume that campaigns aiming at cold traffic from paid ad campaigns will certainly show lower results than those observed for pages aimed at your existing audience.

Keep this in mind when comparing your results with your competitors, and don’t forget to design your pages following these proven landing page best practices.

Irek KlimczakSenior Project Manager @GetResponse

Use of double opt-in by industry
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Below you’ll find out how popular the use of confirmed opt-in is in different industries.

Double opt-in %
Single opt-in %
Arts & Entertainment10.3%89.7%
Financial Services6.65%93.35%
Health & Beauty7.21%92.79%
Health Care10.62%89.38%
Internet Marketing9.61%90.39%
Legal services7.3%92.7%
Real Estate3.61%96.39%
Restaurants & Food7.61%92.39%
Sports and Activities18.32%81.68%
Technology & High Tech5.58%94.42%
Máté Zilahy

Quality over quantity?

Double opt-in has always been a controversial topic in email marketing. On the one hand, it helps ensure that your subscribers provide their real email addresses and are actually interested in your content. This means higher open and click-through rates, lower bounce rates, fewer spam complaints, and an overall healthier list. On the other hand, double opt-in introduces friction to the subscription process, resulting in higher CPAs, lower conversion rates, and smaller list sizes.

So, what’s the right approach? Unfortunately, as with many things in life, there is no clear answer.

During our research, we have concluded that industries with higher data privacy and security standards – like Education, Healthcare, and Legal services – and industries with a heavy focus on engagement – such as Publishing and Sports – are adopting double opt-in at a rapid pace. However, Agencies and Retail companies are turning away from the practice, trading data accuracy for faster list growth.

Every business is different, so whatever has worked for others may not work for you. My advice is to experiment and try to find the sweet spot between quick growth and high engagement.

Máté ZilahyContent Partnerships Manager

Time & frequency
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Here, you’ll find the average email marketing results observed by marketers depending on the time, day, and frequency of email sends in their email campaigns.

Results by the hour of the day
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In this section, we’re looking for the answer to the popular question – what’s the best time to send your email campaigns.

Michal Leszczynski

What’s the best time to send emails?

Once again, we tried to answer this perhaps most frequently asked question about email marketing. When should you send emails for maximum engagement?

It appears that there are two time slots you may want to consider. One early in the morning (4-6 AM) and the second one later in the afternoon (5-7 PM).

If you want to improve your opens and clicks, you’ll want to send your emails right before your recipients wake up or as they’re about to finish work for the day. At these times, the inboxes are usually less cluttered, and you’ll have a higher chance of capturing your audiences’ attention.

And what if that doesn’t work? The best thing you can do is ask your recipients or use send-time optimization algorithms like GetResponse’s Perfect Timing or Time-Travel to send your messages when each user is most likely to interact with your emails. Test these approaches compared to your current setup and see how it performs.

Michal LeszczynskiHead of Content Marketing & Partnerships @GetResponse

Results by the day of the week
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Here, we’ve looked at the average results of email campaigns sent on different days of the week.

Michal Leszczynski

What’s the best day to send emails?

This is another common question we hear quite often.

So what did we learn? Once again, there’s little difference in terms of engagement between individual weekdays. While the average open and click-through rates are the highest on Tuesdays (previously, Mondays and Fridays), they aren’t that far different from what we see on the other days.

As per usual, average metrics drop on weekends, but we’ve all become used to that already.

So, again, feel free to experiment. See which day makes sense for your audience, and focus on sending more valuable content people will want to engage with.

Michal LeszczynskiHead of Content Marketing & Partnerships @GetResponse

Number of newsletters per week
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What’s the right email frequency? What’s the potential increase in the number of conversions your email campaigns generate if you add an extra message to your schedule? The data in this table should help you find the right answers.

Number of newsletters per week
Open rate
Click-through rate
Click to open rate
Unsubscribe rate
Complaint Rate
Bounce rate
% of marketers
Anna Kvasnevska

The more, the merrier?

The most interesting finding here is that the average open rate for all newsletters sent in 2022 (27.9%) is almost 1.5x higher than that from the previous year (19.3%). Of course, we owe part of those opens to the Apple MPP, but it also means that people are more eager to interact with your content as long as they willingly signed up for it.

So ask yourself: why would they not be interested?

One of the leading causes of unsubscribes is receiving too many emails. How many is too many, though? You probably ask yourself this a lot, especially when it comes to building your communication strategy. Setting up a good mailing frequency is crucial, yet, as we see from the most recent data, it’s a lot trickier than it seems.

Most marketers (46.19% against 45.79% a year before) opt in for the safest option and choose to send up to 1 weekly newsletter. And it gives them a decent open rate, CTR, and click-to-open. Interestingly, though, it also results in the highest unsubscribe rate.

These stats are great, but we all know that it’s the links clicked that really matter. And here, the data clearly shows that the highest CTR (3.64%) and click-to-open (10.91%!), as well as the lowest bounce rate (1.77%) see marketers who send as many as 8 newsletters every week.

So what’s a better strategy here? Stretch all your communications into 8 separate mailings, accumulate large weekly newsletters, or settle for something in between without risking overloading your subscribers

The answer is pretty simple: segmentation & information. If you have just one mailing list, appreciate their time and settle for a single, information-packed newsletter deployed once a week. If, however, you have thousands of subscribers eagerly waiting for daily discount codes, unique value-propositions, or something similar – mail away.

Just remember to always keep an eye on the metrics. If you notice the performance of your newsletters is dropping – it’s a sure sign that it’s time to revisit your mailing frequency.

Anna KvasnevskaContent Marketing Manager @GetResponse

Number of autoresponders in a cycle
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How many emails should you put into your autoresponder cycle? We’ve analyzed how the average engagement metrics change depending on the number of emails our customers used in their autoresp onder cycles.

# of messages
Open rate
Click-through rate
Click to open rate
Unsubscribe rate
Spam rate
Bounce rate
% of cycles
Irek Klimczak

It’s not about length. It’s about value.

Shorter email drip campaigns tend to produce better results. In fact, the single-message autoresponder cycle – often used as a welcome or thank-you email with a link to download something – had an astonishing 94% open rate and a 31.43% click-through rate.

But don’t get me wrong. It’s not really about length – it’s all about delivering value. You can easily run engaging long-term campaigns if subscribers keep finding your emails useful.

The trick is to understand the customer journey and create marketing automation workflows that fit every stage. For example, B2B sales cycles are usually complex and call for long email sequences that seize every potential opportunity to address your audience’s information needs.

When planning your email marketing communications, start with your subscribers. Which of their problems are you solving? How exactly can you help them? What would help them decide to buy your product? The answers will fuel your automated email campaigns – and convert your prospects into satisfied customers.

Irek KlimczakSenior Project Manager @GetResponse

Email opens and clicks over time
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How many of your subscribers open your emails within the first two, four, or six hours after sending? Is it the same for clicks? Here, we’re looking at how the recipients’ engagement changed over time after the campaign was sent.

Opens by hour
% of all message opens
% Cumulative
% of all message clicks
Cumulative %
Anna Kvasnevska

Email opens and clicks over time

You’ve probably noticed how your email tends to get the most attention just a few hours right after it's been sent. In fact, most of the attention it’ll ever get (19.66%) comes within the first hour of it landing in the recipient’s inbox. Up to 50% of all opens happen within the first 8 hours.

So, time is of the essence here, especially if you’re dealing with time-sensitive offers.

Getting the timing right becomes even more crucial when it comes to clicks, as almost ⅓ of all clicks (31.95%) occur within the first hour of the delivery, and more than 50% of all interactions fall into the first 4 hours of deployment.

But don’t despair! Our data suggests that people are becoming slower when it comes to email engagement. So, perhaps, in a few years, we’ll get to be a little less anxious about timing our communications.

And for now, the simplest way to ensure that you catch your subscriber at the right time is to rely on AI-driven automations that calculate the most optimal time for the email to be delivered to each recipient individually (we call it the Perfect Timing at GetResponse).

Anna KvasnevskaContent Marketing Manager @GetResponse

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In this section, you’ll see the average metrics observed by marketers using different email marketing tactics.

Average results by message type
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Which email type performs best? Here we’re looking at the average opens, clicks, unsubscribes, and spam complaint rates for different types of emails.



  • Open rate: 35.33%
  • Click-through rate: 3.69%
  • Click to open rate: 10.44%
  • Unsubscribe rate: 0.28%
  • Spam rate: 0.01%
  • Bounce rate: 4.97%


  • Open rate: 35.91%
  • Click-through rate: 4.26%
  • Click to open rate: 11.85%
  • Unsubscribe rate: 0.21%
  • Spam rate: 0.01%
  • Bounce rate: 2.03%


  • Open rate: 26.7%
  • Click-through rate: 2.13%
  • Click to open rate: 7.98%
  • Unsubscribe rate: 0.09%
  • Spam rate: 0%
  • Bounce rate: 3.27%


  • Open rate: 44.54%
  • Click-through rate: 7.24%
  • Click to open rate: 16.24%
  • Unsubscribe rate: 0.05%
  • Spam rate: 0%
  • Bounce rate: 0.8%
Irek Klimczak

RSS emails are on top

Do you want high open and click-through rates? Send emails your audience wants to open and click on. Sounds easy, right? :) But how to find out what your audience wants? A/B testing is the best way to get your answers.

Create 2 versions of emails and run split tests to find out which subject lines translate into higher opens and what content results in the highest conversion rate.

With marketing automation, you can collect important data along the customer journey – and use it to segment your list and personalize your content.

For instance, you can add tags to your contacts based on the stage in the customer journey, products they are most interested in, etc. The more actionable data you have, the more relevant your messages will be.

Combine solid customer data with methodical A/B testing and experience the magic of email marketing firsthand.

Irek KlimczakSenior Project Manager @GetResponse

Use of video
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In this table, we’re looking at whether adding video content (including links to your video hosting platforms) could help you boost your engagement metrics, primarily the average click-th rough and click-to-open rates.



  • Open rate: 32.21%
  • Click-through rate: 2.51%
  • Click-to-open rate: 7.8%
  • Unsubscribe rate: 0.12%
  • Spam rate: 0.01%
  • Bounce rate: 2.63%


  • Open rate: 41.31%
  • Click-through rate: 4.5%
  • Click-to-open rate: 10.91%
  • Unsubscribe rate: 0.18%
  • Spam rate: 0.01%
  • Bounce rate: 2.63%

Other / None

  • Open rate: 27.03%
  • Click-through rate: 2.27%
  • Click-to-open rate: 8.4%
  • Unsubscribe rate: 0.09%
  • Spam rate: 0%
  • Bounce rate: 3.29%
Irek Klimczak

Make your emails more engaging with video content

Once again, video proves to be an engaging content format worth including in your emails. Just by featuring it in your communications, you’re off to a good start and can count on much higher click-through and deliverability rates.

At the same time, sending videos in emails can still be problematic from the technical side of things. Not all email mailbox providers fully support it as of yet, but there are workarounds on how you can do it effectively.

Irek KlimczakSenior Project Manager @GetResponse

Number of characters in email subject lines
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Below we’re looking at the relationship between the email subject line length and the average open rates they scored. On top of that, you’ll see what subject line length is most popular with email marketers.

Irek Klimczak

How long should your subject lines be?

The best practice has always been to keep your subject lines short. This is because most email clients will trim your subject line so that it fits on every device screen.

Looking at our data, the clear winner is the 61-70 characters range.

Now, the tricky part is that it’s actually longer subject lines that tend to get the highest opens and clicks.

But does that mean you should make your subject lines longer? Not necessarily.

A/B test your subject lines within the range displayed on various devices. At the same time, don’t get preoccupied if you go above the 60-character mark – your email campaign will still work.

At the end of the day, it all comes down to giving your subscriber an idea of what’s inside your email. Your subject lines need to be compelling enough to get people to open it. But remember that your sender name and preheader text aim to do the same.

In most cases, it’s not about the length of the subject line, but rather the message is conveys. If the content is relevant to your audience, it’s easy to come up with a subject line that scores a high open rate.

And if your gut feeling isn’t strong, be sure to A/B test your subject lines and automatically pick the best-performing ones.

Irek KlimczakSenior Project Manager @GetResponse

Emojis in email subject lines
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Could adding an emoji to your subject lines help you achieve higher email open rates? We’ve looked at how popular and successful this approach is among GetResponse customers.

Open rate
Click-through rate
Click-to-open rate
Unsubscribe rate
Spam rate
Bounce rate
% of messages
Anna Kvasnevska

Emojis in email subject lines

Based on this year’s report, it still seems that NOT using emojis is a slightly better strategy for an average marketer. All the core email marketing metrics seem to perform better for communications that did not use any emojis in their subject lines.

At the same time, it’s important to keep in mind that the difference is rather insignificant (1.84%) and the data may be slightly skewed because of the imbalance in the % of messages sent. Most marketers (77%) default into avoiding emojis in their subject lines, which is why there is simply more data on such emails’ performance.

All this suggests that you should always look into your email metrics for your unique audience. If you’re still uncertain, run some pro-emoji and emoji-less A/B tests to see for yourself. And if the results are still not conclusive enough – follow your brand’s tone of voice!

Anna KvasnevskaContent Marketing Manager @GetResponse

Personalization in email subject lines
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Here we’ve tried to answer the question whether you should use personalization in the email subject lines.

Open rate
Click-through rate
Click-to-open rate
Unsubscribe rate
Spam rate
Bounce rate
% of messages
Anna Kvasnevska

Personalization in email subject lines

You’ll often hear email marketers say that personalization is key. Some will even remind you that real personalization is bigger than entering a subscriber’s first name in their email subject line. And that couldn’t be more true.

Most marketers (88.52%) don’t chase after personalization in their subject lines anymore. The CTR of such emails is almost 2x higher than that of the ones that go an extra mile and choose to personalize their subject lines (2.49% against 1.29%).

However, that doesn’t mean you have to abandon personalization whatsoever. Keep it for what really matters: contact segmentation, offer adjustment, individual discounts and coupons, birthday gifts, etc.

And use subject lines to make sure the recipients see real value in it, and don’t simply recognize their first names.

Anna KvasnevskaContent Marketing Manager @GetResponse

Phrases in email subject lines
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Do individual phrases in email subject lines correlate with email campaign performance? Here we explore whether individual words have the power to make or break your email campaigns.

Phrase or symbol
Open rate
Click-through rate
Click to open rate
Unsubscribe rate
Spam rate
Bounce rate
question mark26.57%1.66%6.24%0.11%0%2.59%
exclamation mark28.22%2.12%7.52%0.12%0%2.75%
name of the month (e.g. January)41.88%3.98%9.51%0.08%0%2.61%
day of the week (e.g. Monday)33.02%2.42%7.32%0.12%0%2.53%
Michal Leszczynski

No shortcuts

Email marketing is a long-term play. And a rather intimate one, too.

If you want to generate high ROI, you need to build strong relationships with your audience. That means you need to deliver value to them and keep your promises.

Marketers often discuss how using a specific word in your subject lines can dramatically increase your open rates. So we tested this, but it’s difficult to drive conclusions.

Some words coincided with high open rates. The top 5 were: month names, “update”, “events”, “now”, and “news”.

Some coincided with particularly low open rates. The bottom 5 were: “guaranteed”, “compare”, “tested”, “affordable”, and “unlimited”.

Overall, I think achieving high engagement rates isn’t just about putting the best words into your subject lines. How people perceive you and your communications is often more important, so start by ensuring that part is top-notch.

Once you’ve covered that, start crafting creative subject lines, and A/B test them to find the winning variant. And don’t count on shortcuts.

Michal LeszczynskiHead of Content Marketing & Partnerships @GetResponse

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Does adding the preheader increase your chances of getting your emails opened? Let’s see how popular preheaders are and whether email marketers that use them get better than average email open rates.

Open rate
Click-through rate
Click-to-open rate
Unsubscribe rate
Spam rate
Bounce rate
% of messages
Irek Klimczak

The preheader: Your subject line’s best friend

Preheader is the first snippet of text in your email that appears next to your subject line.

People see it before they even open the email.

We’ve been praising preheaders for a long time – and urging marketers to add one if they want high open rates. And it looks like our efforts are finally beginning to pay off, as 34% of all messages we analyzed contained a preheader. That’s 8% more than we observed in our last report.

And unlike personalized subject lines, this tactic still continues to generate positive results and helps marketers drive more email opens.

So, how should you design the preheader? Here’s an example from Interaction-Design.org:

Subject line: Do not seek praise, seek criticism Preheader: Learn how to conduct effective usability testing

As you can tell, the subject and the preheader go together to tell the story.

In fact, you should make use of all the elements that subscribers see in the inbox before they open the email. Used well, the so-called envelope (sender’s name, subject line, and preheader) can make a difference. And your average open rates will reflect that.

Irek KlimczakSenior Project Manager @GetResponse

Personalization in email body
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Does tailored content in emails correlate with higher average engagement rates? In this table, we’re looking at the relationship between the email engagement metrics and the u se of personalization in the email body.

Open rate
Click-through rate
Click-to-open rate
Unsubscribe rate
Spam rate
Bounce rate
% of messages
Anna Kvasnevska

To personalize or not to personalize?

Unlike subject lines, it’s still important to personalize your email. Personalized emails have higher open rates and a lower probability of bounce. At the same time, if we look at the click-to-open ratio, last year, personalization performed way better (13.6% in 2021 against 8.91% in 2022).

That once again highlights the importance of approaching everything with caution. Hyper personalization is a thing, and it can get very annoying very quickly. Users are also becoming more adept at recognizing automation patterns behind so-called personalized messaging. That’s why matching their needs to your solutions should be your #1 goal this year.

It’s not about how many segments you create (you may just need 2!) or how much dynamic content you add to your emails.

Instead, it’s about the relevance of the data you use to personalize your communications. And the good news is that the revolution has already begun. Thanks to the rapid popularization of AI-driven product and content recommendations, most email marketers should soon be able to personalize their offers based on the invaluable zero- and first-party user data, and not just their assumptions.

Things are surely looking bright for the future of user-oriented AI-powered personalization in email marketing!

Anna KvasnevskaContent Marketing Manager @GetResponse

Welcome emails
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How important are welcome emails? What open and click-through rates do they get, on average? Here’s what we’ve found.

Open rate
Click-through rate
Click-to-open rate
Unsub. rate
Spam. Rate
Bounce rate
Michal Leszczynski

Welcome email: your most important email campaign

Welcome emails continue to be your most important email marketing campaign, even if their impact has slightly decreased.

Welcome emails saw an average open rate of 63.91% (a drop from 68.59%) and an average click-through rate of 14.34% (a drop from 16.05% ). That’s still 3x more than what you’d see from regular newsletters.

In addition to driving engagement and improving your deliverability, welcome emails are great for setting expectations for your relationship with your new audience. Use them to tell your brand’s story, share your most important links, or emphasize what makes your brand unique. And if you’re an ecommerce business hoping to increase sales, adding a discount code to your welcome email will definitely increase your subscriber-to-customer ratio.

Michal LeszczynskiHead of Content Marketing & Partnerships @GetResponse

Image-based vs. text-based emails
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Should you add images to your emails? Or maybe it’s better to send text-based newsletters instead? Here’s what the numbers say.

Has Graphic?
Open Rate
Click-through rate
Click-to-open rate
Unsub. Rate
Spam rate
Bounce rate
Michal Leszczynski

Versatility and relevance matter

Should your email marketing campaigns be text- or image-based? It’s a great question – with a not-so-simple answer.

We tried to split the emails our customers sent into those with images versus those without them. The problem? We don’t know the image sizes. Was it a simple logo – or was the entire email an image?

What the data does suggest is that image-based emails perform better – both in terms of the average open and click-through rates.

The difference is quite significant – 2.78% vs. 1.13% in the case of CTR and 30.27% vs. 21.9% for open rates.

But once again, this might not be the case for your audience.

Plus, the CTRs could increase because more eyes are looking at these specific emails. I suggest making your communication more versatile. Try both approaches, and A/B test individual messages to find your winning strategy.

And once you’ve done that, don’t stop evaluating your results. Make sure you’re always optimizing your email marketing campaigns.

Michal LeszczynskiHead of Content Marketing & Partnerships @GetResponse

Use of send-time optimization
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Let’s check whether send-time optimization algorithms can help us improve our email marketing campaigns’ performance, automatically.

Open Rate
Click-through rate
Click-to-open rate
Unsub. Rate
Spam rate
Bounce rate
Perfect timing27.84%2.09%7.51%0.13%0%3.34%
Time travel30.21%4.41%14.61%0.08%0%1.8%
Máté Zilahy

Time is of the essence

If you want to send effective email broadcasts, you have to send the right message, to the right audience, at the right time. Fortunately, GetResponse can help you in all three, taking your email game to new heights.

With Time Travel, you decide at which hour your email campaign should be sent and GetResponse will automatically adjust the timing according to your recipient’s local time zone. Perfect Timing, on the other hand, will look at past behavior data and send your emails at the optimal time for each individual subscriber.

Recently, we have observed that Time Travel has higher open and click-through rates than Perfect Timing. There are many possible reasons for this trend – subscribers may appreciate predictability and brands may be more inclined to send high-converting time-sensitive offers with Time Travel.

It’s also important to note that Perfect Timing works best when you have sufficient data on your subscribers. So if you are just starting out, Time Travel is probably a better solution for you.

Máté ZilahyContent Partnerships Manager

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Here, we’re looking at other elements that may play a role in how you run your email marketing campaigns and the average metrics you could expect.

Average results by list size
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Do email marketers with bigger lists get better results? Here, we’re looking at the relationship between the average email marketing results observed by our customers and their list sizes.

List size
Open rate
Click-through rate
Click to open rate
Unsubscribe rate
Spam rate
Bounce rate
1. 250-49953.6%7.21%13.44%0.22%0.01%2.51%
2. 500-99945.67%5.2%11.4%0.19%0.01%2.82%
3. 1000-249936.66%4.07%11.1%0.17%0.01%2.75%
4. 2500-499932.19%3.25%10.1%0.14%0.01%2.68%
5. 5000-999928.73%2.42%8.41%0.11%0%2.56%
6. 10000-2499925.92%2.22%8.56%0.09%0%2.08%
7. 25000-4999926.6%1.48%5.58%0.08%0%1.97%
8. 50000-9999927.64%2.2%7.97%0.08%0%3.37%
9. 100000+25.45%2.21%8.67%0.08%0%7.99%
Michal Leszczynski

Email lists: when quality beats quantity!

When it comes to email lists, marketers have long preached the importance of quality over quantity. Is this still true? Without knowing the overall conversion rates, it’s hard to say for sure. When it comes to engagement metrics such as email opens and clicks, it would seem that the email marketers with smaller lists are in the lead. Starting from those with 250-499 contacts all the way through 100k+, the smaller lists observed higher opens, click-throughs, and click-to-open rates.

The bottom line is this: When you’re growing your email list, don’t lose touch with your customers! Build relationships just like you would if you were running a corner store. Personalize your subscriber experience and make sure the conversation keeps delivering value to them. Your audience will appreciate it and pay you back with interest.

Michal LeszczynskiHead of Content Marketing & Partnerships @GetResponse

Email address length
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In this table, you’ll find the average email address length.

Máté Zilahy

Same old, same old

According to our research, the average length of email addresses has remained relatively stable over the years. In fact, approximately 95% of all email addresses fall within the 5 to 29-character range.

To improve user experience and boost conversion rates, build signup forms that accommodate up to 29 characters. Failing to do so can cause frustration, typos, and lower conversions, especially on mobile devices where visibility is limited.

Máté ZilahyContent Partnerships Manager

Landing page elements
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In this section, we’re looking at the average landing page conversion rates generated by pages that contain particular elements or features.

Conversion rate
Promotes a webinar22.84%
Includes a video4.89%
Includes a link to social media4.87%
Includes a countdown timer7.26%
Includes an image6.83%
Form has one field10.72%
Form has two fields6.35%
Form has three fields16.67%
Form has 4+ fields7.58%
Máté Zilahy

Webinars continue to dominate

Value-based marketing is becoming increasingly important as consumers seek more personalized and authentic interactions with brands. Fitting this theme, live webinars are still popular – landing pages promoting webinars have a whopping 22.84% average conversion rate.

Many people think that sign-up forms should have as few fields as possible. However, our research doesn’t support this idea. In fact, forms with 3 fields convert twice as many visitors than forms with just 2. The key takeaway? Don’t be afraid to ask for extra information at sign-up! Just don’t go overboard.

Adding countdowns to your landing pages adds a sense of urgency, increasing your conversion rates, but the same can’t be said about social media links or videos, as these can distract visitors from your primary offer. When creating landing pages, make sure they are visually appealing, concise, and clearly communicate your value proposition.

Máté ZilahyContent Partnerships Manager

Webinar invitations reminders
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Here, we’ve looked at the engagement metrics generated by automated emails sent when promoting a webinar.

Type of communication
Open rate
Click-through rate
Click-to-open rate
Webinar invitation21.33%2.39%11.23%
Webinar reminder - sent at start time77.95%20.97%26.9%
Webinar reminder - sent 5 minutes before the webinar80.55%24.39%30.27%
Webinar reminder - sent 30 minutes before the webinar76.41%24.17%31.63%
Webinar reminder - sent 1 hour before the webinar101.2%31.61%31.23%
Webinar reminder - sent 1 day before the webinar98.05%15.14%15.44%
Máté Zilahy

Don’t let them forget about you

Your audience are busy people who have a lot on their minds. If you capture their attention long enough to get them to subscribe to your webinar, that’s great; however, without reminders, many will forget about your event.

According to our research, the best time to send webinar reminders is 1 hour before going live. In addition, I would suggest sending an additional reminder 1 day before your event to make sure your registrants can plan their days accordingly. This is the same reminder schedule we use for the GetResponse webinars, and it has never failed us so far.

Máté ZilahyContent Partnerships Manager

Best day to host webinars
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Looking to attract more webinar registrants? Let’s start by picking the best day to host your webinars.

Avg. attendee to registrant ratio
Avg. number of registrants
% of webinars
Máté Zilahy

Is Monday a webinar day?

As most GetResponse users are solopreneurs or SMBs, it makes sense that the average number of webinar registrants are lower on our platform. Interestingly, not many webinars are organized on Mondays – businesses still seem to favor the middle of the week – Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday – for hosting webinars. Yet, these are Monday webinars that consistently have a high number of registrants and great attendance levels.

Whatever you do, try to avoid Fridays and weekends, as these days have the lowest number of registrants on average.

Máté ZilahyContent Partnerships Manager

Best hour to host webinars
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Let’s review the best time to run your webinars.

Avg. attendee to registrant ratio
Avg. number of registrants
% of webinars
1 A.M.1.1%1.010.37%
2 A.M.0%1.10.62%
3 A.M.0.15%1.020.3%
4 A.M.0.5%1.080.22%
5 A.M.10.11%1.680.19%
6 A.M.1.13%1.070.08%
7 A.M.41.14%4.780.53%
8 A.M.56.04%14.542.44%
9 A.M.58%12.963.53%
10 A.M.47.7%23.856.89%
11 A.M.44.23%17.214.78%
12 P.M.40.23%13.472.88%
1 P.M.50.36%6.731.51%
2 P.M.52.2%13.432.67%
3 P.M.46.31%25.363.91%
4 P.M.36.72%35.925.17%
5 P.M.31.71%80.2711.54%
6 P.M.33.75%97.9317.51%
7 P.M.30.54%178.6429.74%
8 P.M.39.27%62.394.55%
9 P.M.52.08%8.570.27%
10 P.M.54.98%3.750.06%
11 P.M.4.08%5.020.14%
12 A.M.3.68%1.020.12%
Máté Zilahy

5 PM to 7 PM

It seems that the most popular time for businesses to host webinars is between 5 PM and 7 PM. Coincidentally, webinars hosted during this time frame also receive the highest number of registrants on average.

While several factors could contribute to this trend, one possible explanation is that people are more likely to have finished their workday during this time and are more willing to invest their time in attending a webinar. Additionally, scheduling webinars during this time frame may also be convenient for those with busy schedules who may not be able to attend during regular business hours.

It's worth noting that you should consider your target audience when choosing a webinar time as different time zones, industries, and demographics may have different preferences.

Máté ZilahyContent Partnerships Manager

General webinar statistics
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Do webinar attendees come mostly from desktop or mobile devices? What webinar software features you should be using to keep your aud ience engaged? Let’s explore.

Share of attendees using a mobile device38.06%
Share of attendees using a desktop device61.94%
Share of webinars that use surveys1.33%
Share of webinars that use registration59.92%
Share of registrants signing up for the webinar on the day of the webinar18%
Share of registrants signing up for the webinar 1-7 days before the webinar64%
Share of registrants signing up for the webinar 8-14 days before the webinar12%
Share of registrants signing up for the webinar 15+ days before the webinar6%
Máté Zilahy

Be relevant and provide value

The average number of webinar registrants in 2021 was 26, while in 2022 it was 23. Additionally, the average number of attendees in 2021 was 10, while in 2022 it was 8.31. While the decrease is not significant, it’s still noteworthy. A possible explanation for this could be the increasing saturation of webinars in the market. As more businesses host webinars, it can become more difficult for people to decide which ones to attend.

It's interesting to note that 82% of registrants signed up for webinars within a week of the scheduled date, with only 6% signing up more than two weeks in advance. This suggests that the majority of the audience is looking for webinars relevant to their current needs or interests.

When hosting a webinar, make providing value your primary focus, as this will help establish credibility, build trust, and ultimately lead to more successful outcomes. To achieve this, carefully plan the content, structure, and delivery of the webinar, and be sure to engage with the audience throughout the session. Oh, and don’t forget to optimize the webinar experience for mobile devices, as more than 38% of your attendees will watch it on their phones!

Máté ZilahyContent Partnerships Manager