Can I see why my contacts have unsubscribed?
The reason a contact has given for unsubscribing is available under the removed section of your inactive contacts page. The reason is also available when exporting your inactive contacts.
When a contact unsubscribes, they are removing their contact details from your list. Unsubscribing also means the contact is withdrawing their permission to receive your emails. They can restore their permission in future by subscribing to your list again. Contacts may choose to unsubscribe for any of the following reasons:
I receive too many emails in general
This means the contact is not satisfied with the amount of emails they receive in general. It does not mean they are unhappy with your emails in particular. Instead, they may be unsubscribing to reduce the total amount of clutter in their inbox.
I receive too many emails from you
The contact is not satisfied with the amount of emails they receive from you. If your contacts often unsubscribe for this reason, consider sending fewer emails. In other words, focus on quality over quantity.
The content isn’t relevant to me
The contact is not satisfied with the email content they are receiving. It may mean that they signed up for a specific type of content, and that your focus for that list has since changed. It may also mean that the contact became less interested in the content they signed up for with time.
I’m no longer your client
The contact signed up to receive your emails but is no longer interested. The content no longer applies to them.
I never signed up to receive emails
The contact believes that they never signed up to receive your content. Contacts use this reason to report emails sent without permission.
None of the reasons listed above apply to the contact.
Note: If you notice that you are receiving a high amount of unsubscribes, there are some steps you can take. Consider following the best email practices that influence delivery to help avoid this outcome.